Thursday, September 8, 2016

Auggie Kempf Announces Retirement from EvergreenHealth Board

Image result for evergreenhealth commissioner auggie kempf image
Auggie Kempf
Kirkland, Wash. – R. August "Auggie" Kempf has announced his plans to resign his position as EvergreenHealth Board of Commissioners, Position #3 effective September 3, 2016. Kempf’s retirement from the board comes from a desire to spend more time with his family.

While Kempf anticipated vacating his position at the end of his term on December 31, 2017, he has opted to end his service early. Kempf’s vacancy means the Board plans to add three new members for terms beginning in 2017–two at-large positions, and a Position #3 slot, to fill Kempf’s post.

“It has been my honor and privilege to serve alongside Auggie for 16 years,” said Al DeYoung, chairman, EvergreenHealth Board of Commissioners. “His business and financial acumen have been great assets to our organization, and his deep commitment to the health and well-being of his community are truly admirable. We respect his decision to step down early and wish him our very best.”

Kempf served on the Board of Commissioners, representing Redmond and Sammamish, since first being appointed in 2000. He was officially elected to the Board in 2001, and was re-elected to two six-year terms (in 2005 and 2011). In his role as a commissioner, he also served for more than five years as a member of both the board Audit & Finance Committee and the Compensation and Retirement Plan Committee, respectively.

Prior to becoming a board member, Kempf served for 10 years as a participant in EvergreenHealth's Community Advisors program. He has also served on the EvergreenHealth Foundation Board of Trustees in various capacities since 1996.

During Kempf’s tenure on the Board of Commissioners, the health system realized unprecedented growth and stabilized its financial performance. EvergreenHealth rapidly expanded from a single hospital to a thriving integrated health system serving a district of nearly 300,000 residents and a total service area of nearly one million, with a 318-licensed-bed tertiary hospital at the Kirkland campus, 74-licensed-bed community hospital in Monroe, 10 primary care locations throughout the Eastside and east Snohomish County, three emergency departments, two urgent care facilities, more than 1,000 members of the medical staff, and 30 specialty care locations.

As a public district health care system, EvergreenHealth is governed by a Board of Commissioners, which is currently comprised of five members, each elected by the voters in the district to serve a six-year term. The Board provides governance and accountability for EvergreenHealth’s mission, vision and purpose, quality, service and overall effectiveness, through collaboration and counsel to the system’s CEO.

In August, King County voters approved EvergreenHealth’s Board of Commissioners proposition to expand the King County Public Hospital District No. 2 (KCPHD #2, d/b/a EvergreenHealth) board from five to seven commissioners. As EvergreenHealth’s district and service area continues to grow in size, diversity and complexity, the Board expansion is designed to broaden representation in the community. It also provides oversight within the ever-increasing, complex health care environment by augmenting the board with added expertise and diversifying the mix of skills and leadership styles among commissioners.

EvergreenHealth will seek a candidate for the now vacant board position #3, representing Redmond and Sammamish.

The prospective Board Commissioner should meet the following basic requirements:
  • Be a resident of KCPHD #2 district, in Redmond/Sammamish
  • Be a registered voter
  • Be engaged in the community
  • Have a track record of public and community service
  • Understand and honor the role of governance
  • Represent the diversity of the community
  • Willing to serve 35-40 hours/month
  • Willing to provide public disclosure
  • Have no conflicts of interest and not employed by District

Applications for interested residents are available at

Current members of the Board of Commissioners include: Al DeYoung, board chair (Bothell/Woodinville/Duvall); Jeanette Greenfield, secretary (at-large); Rebecca Hirt (Kirkland/Kenmore); R. August Kempf (Redmond/Sammamish – vacated September 2016) and Charles Pilcher, M.D. (at-large).

No comments: