Thursday, February 25, 2016

Lake Washington Citizens Levy Committee announces honorary co-chairs, endorsements

Endorsement list for April 2016 bond includes business leaders, elected officials
The mayors of all three communities served by the Lake Washington School District have been named honorary co-chairs of the campaign to pass an April 26, 2016 school bond measure, the Lake Washington Citizens Levy Committee announced.
Kirkland Mayor Amy Walen, City of Redmond Mayor John Marchione and Sammamish Mayor Don Gerend are supporting the bond proposition, which is aimed at providing more classroom space to relieve school overcrowding that keeps getting worse. (Please note: the use of the title is for identification purposes only.) It prioritizes the schools’ most urgent needs to ensure the greatest impact district-wide – all while maintaining the current tax rate.
“We are fortunate to have these outstanding community leaders uniting with us to support this important bond measure,” said Eric Campbell, CEO of Main Street Property Group and a member of the citizens committee.  “They recognize the value of a high-quality education system to a thriving community. And we can do it through a thoughtful, long-term approach to improve our children’s schools without raising the tax rate.”
Added Lake Washington School District parent Kirstin Larson: “By agreeing to serve as honorary co-chairs, our mayors have demonstrated that the April 2016 bond proposition is a sensible solution to address the needs of our rapidly-growing school district, ensuring our kids are getting the best opportunities to learn.”
The citizens levy committee also released a full list of individuals and organizations endorsing the bond measure as of Feb. 12, 2016:
Affordable Housing Council
Jay Arnold, Kirkland Deputy Mayor
Nancy Bernard, Public Health Advisor
Barbara Billinghurst, co-founder, Funding Washington Schools
Angela Birney, Redmond City Council Member
Siri Bliesner, LWSD Director, District 5
Eric Campbell, CEO, Main Street Property Group
Frank Chopp, Speaker of House, Washington House of Representatives
Santo Contreras, former Deputy Mayor and member Kirkland City Council
Tony and Martha DeAmicis, LWSD parents
Jane Dulski, LWSD parent
Judy East, LWSD parent 
Bill Finkbeiner, former State Legislator, Kirkland
Roger Goodman, Washington State Representative, 45th District
Andy Hill, State Senator
April Isenhower, LWSD parent
Matt Isenhower, Trustee, Lake Washington Schools Foundation
Emily Johnson, LWSD parent
Erika Kapur, LWSD parent
Robert K. Kelley, MD, Totem Lake Family Medicine
Gregory Kovsky, President, IBA
Walt Krueger, Partner, Krueger Beck
Lake Washington Education Association
Lake Washington High School PTSA
Eric Laliberte
Kristin Larson, LWSD parent
Matt Loschen
Master Builders Association of King and Snohomish Counties
Joan McBride, Washington State Representative, 48th District
Sherri Nichols, former trustee, Lake Washington Schools Foundation
Kerri Nielsen, Managing Broker/Realtor
Jennifer O’Keefe, LWSD parent
Todd Olberg, principal, The Blue Line Group
Johanna Palmer, Vice President, DeYoung Mfg.
Jackie Pendergrass, former School Board Director
Tom Pendergrass, UW and Seattle Children’s
Peter Kirk Elementary PTSA
Jay Pulacode, LWSD parent
Kathleen Reynolds, LWSD Paraeducator
Seattle King County Realtors
Byron Shutz, Redmond City Council Member
Beth Sigall, LWSD parent
Brad and Laura Stevenson, future LWSD parents
John Stilin, Redmond City Council Member
Mark W. Stuart, LWSD District 4 Director
Archana Sunil, LWSD parent
Penny Sweet, Kirkland business owner
Kevin Teeley, LWSD Education Association President
Shawn Thornsberry, LWSD parent
Tara and Peter Van Niman, LWSD parents
Bob Yoder, editor and writer, Redmond Neighborhood Blog
For more information, visit the Lake Washington Citizens Levy Committee’s website at
Join us and Vote YES for Lake Washington Schools.
Paid for by the Lake Washington Citizens Levy Committee

No comments: