Saturday, May 10, 2014

Five students receive National Merit $2500 Scholarships

2,500 distinguished students recognized nationwide
Redmond, Wash.The National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC) announced today that five Lake Washington School District students will receive National Merit $2500 Scholarships:
·         Cameron Akker (Sammamish), Redmond High School
·         Ryan Holmdahl (Redmond), Eastlake High School
·         Samhita Karnati (Sammamish), Redmond High School
·         James McCutcheon (Sammamish), Eastlake High School
·         Anwell Wang (Sammamish), International Community School
These students are five of the 2,500 distinguished high school seniors nationwide to win this scholarship. They were selected from a talent pool of more than 15,000 outstanding Finalists in the 2014 National Merit Scholarship Program. Fifty students were selected statewide for these awards.
National Merit $2500 Scholarship winners are the Finalists in each state judged to have the strongest combination of accomplishments, skills, and potential for success in rigorous college studies. A committee of college admissions officers and high school counselors selected these students as Scholarship winners. These Scholars may use their awards at any regionally accredited U.S. college or university.

No comments: