Friday, February 28, 2014

News from LWSD schools

Four high school students selected as candidates for U.S. Presidential Scholars Program
Nikhil Auradkar (Eastlake High School), Jack Eggleston (International Community School), Hannah Yang (Redmond High School) and Alex Zhou (Redmond High School) have been selected as candidates for the U.S. Presidential Scholars Program. Sixty-seven students from around the state are candidates. These students will now complete applications for the chance to become Presidential Scholars. Each year, up to 141 students nationally are named as Presidential Scholars, one of the nation's highest honors for high school students. The U.S. Presidential Scholars Program was established in 1964 by executive order of the President, to recognize and honor some of our nation's most distinguished graduating high school seniors. In 1979, the program was extended to recognize students who demonstrate exceptional talent in the visual, creative, and performing arts. Read More >>

Redmond High School senior wins Art Outstanding Achievement Award
Holly Scott, a senior at Redmond High School, received an Outstanding Achievement Award in the 2014 Regional High School Art Show sponsored by the Puget Sound Educational Service District. This piece is one of a series of 12 charcoal figure studies that Holly completed for the concentration portion of her Advanced Placement (AP) Art portfolio. She received a five on the AP test for her efforts. The award is for Outstanding Achievement in a specific medium, in her case, charcoal. Holly has been invited, along with her family, friends and art instructors (Steve Okun and Jordan Swain), to a reception at the Puget Sound ESD on March 19. All Regional High School Art Show award winners will be recognized on that date. 

WHS team wins Excellence Award at robotics tournament

The Lake Washington High School (LWHS) Robotics club participated in a tournament February 8-9 at Cavelero Mid-High School in Lake Stevens, Wash. All three teams made the quarter finals; two moved on to the semifinals and team 4770 went on as the number four seed overall and took second place in the tournament, one of the best final rounds so far this season. Team 4770 also competed in the Robot Skills Challenge and placed second for scoring as many points as possible in one minute. Team 4770A (the number eight seed) placed eighth in skills. Thirty-six teams from all over the northwest participated, including two from Rose Hill Middle School.

Juanita student receives Lee Johnson Student Community Service Award
Keegan Taggart, a senior at Juanita High School, is the recipient of the 2013-14 Lee Johnson Student Community Service Award presented by the Kirkland Chamber of Commerce. This $1,000 scholarship is presented annually to a deserving high school student. Keegan is recognized for his exceptional music talent and his dedication to community service.
“By helping others in an out of the school setting, planning events at schools to promote a safe environment, and playing a leading role in improving the lives of others through the Make A Wish Foundation and Relay for Life, Keegan’s actions and values uphold those most treasured by the Lee Johnson family,” said Ginny Johnson of the Lee Johnson Family, in a letter written to the school district.
In addition to the $1,000 scholarship for Keegan, Lee Johnson will also donate $1,000 to the Lake Washington Schools Foundation in Keegan’s name.

Redmond Middle School student leads Science Infinity team to first place

Neha Nagvekar, an eighth grade student from Redmond Middle School, was the captain of the Science Infinity team that won first place at the 2014 BPA Regional Middle School Science Bowl on Saturday, January 25 in Portland, Ore. Science Infinity is a Bellevue-based non-profit organization that promotes interest in science and math in young students. Neha and her team will now represent this region at the National Science Bowl that will be held in Washington D.C. in April. Read more.
Thoreau Elementary coin drive benefits victims of Typhoon Haiyan
Thoreau Elementary collected a total of $765.00 in their coin drive to help families impacted by Typhoon Haiyan. Funds collected were donated to the Red Cross and will provide support for approximately 14 families with two weeks of food for a family of five.  The student-initiated coin drive led by Zeke Marsh and Fraxz Padilla lasted from November 2013 until January 2014.  
Three LWSD students named NCWIT Award for Aspirations in Computing winners
Three LWSD students have been named National Center for Women and Information Technology (NCWIT) Award for Aspirations in Computing winners. The NCWIT Award for Aspirations in Computing honors young women at the high school level for their computing-related achievements and interests. The Washington state award recognizes 15-20 girls throughout the region. Winners are selected for their academic history, leadership ability and plans for post-secondary education.
The LWSD winners were:
·         Lila Balakrishnan, junior, Redmond High School (Redmond)*
·         Maya Ganesan, junior, STEM High School (Redmond)*
·         Alka Pai, junior, STEM High School (Redmond)*
·         Runner-up: Sonia Skarbek, junior, STEM High School (Redmond)
*Lila, Maya and Alka were also named national award runners-up.
The accomplishments of these young women will be celebrated at an event on March 8 at the University of Washington's Computer Science & Engineering building from 12:30 - 4 p.m.

No comments: